B.Eng. Agricultural Engineering

Histoty of the Department

The Department of Agricultural Engineering has the historic advantage of being one of the pioneering Departments at the Technical University, Ibadan in 2017. The Department was established to adopt the technical, vocational education and training (TVET) module in order to produce self-reliant graduates who are well grounded in a broad sense with theoretical and practical aspects of Agricultural Engineering, in Universities, Industry or Private Practice. The programme is designed to develop the entrepreneurial capabilities of the students required for economic development.

The Department started operation in the 2017/2018 Academic Session and is presently under the headship of Dr. I.O. Olaoye. The students of the Department registered for their first compulsory core Agricultural Engineering course in their second year in 2018/2019 Academic session. At that level, the Department had only 11 students with one full-time academic and two adjuct lecturers, since the students were then offering basic science and engineering courses being taught by sister Departments. Staff strength has however grown significantly as the number of core agricultural engineering courses increased with the rise in the level of student’s academic work.


To promote World-Class innovation in a sustainable manner, driven by entrepreneurial practices using cutting edge technology and to produce students who can think creatively in physical sciences, harness modern technology, and whose research contributes a substantial proportion of innovations in Nigeria and occupy leadership positions in public and private sectors of the Nigeria economy.


The mission of the Department in pursuit of its vision is to be one of the top rated Agricultural Engineering Department in the world; to imbibe in our students the right ethics, attitude and behaviors expected of Engineers; to empower them academically and professionally for the creative and effective practice of Engineering in food, agro-allied and soil and water conservation industries, in governmental establishments and other agencies involved in the management and regulation of agricultural, food and natural resources.

Administration and Organizational structures

Members of Staff

The Head of Department

The Department is normally headed by an academic staff not below the rank of senior lecturer, who must be professionally registered by the council for the Regulation of Engineering in Nigerian (COREN). The appointment of Head of Department is at the discretion of the Vice-Chancellor, normally for a period of one year, but can be renewed or rotated to another qualified person in ensuring all-inclusive leadership development in the administration of the Department.

The Head is assisted by other members of staff formed into various committees, panels and groups, such as Board of Examiners, Review Panel, Student-Staff Relation, etc. The Department also hands a regular General Departmental Meeting, where all recommendations from the various activity groups are considered.

Other academic and non-academic positions, in-line with Career Structures of the University are as follows:


  • Professors
  • Readers
  • Senior Lecturers
  • Lecturer I
  • Lecturer II
  • Assistant Lecturers
  • Graduates Assistants
  • Chief Technologists
  • Technologists
  • Departmental Secretary
  • Administrative Staff